United Nations Research and Training Institutes

HQ location


Date established



ECOSOC res. 1086 B (XXXIX) (1965)

The UN Interregional Crime and Justice Research Institute (UNICRI) is one of five UN research and training institutes. It was created to help inter-governmental, governmental and non-governmental organizations in formulating and implementing improved policies in crime prevention and criminal justice.  It does this through applied research, training, technical cooperation, field activities and the collection, exchange and dissemination of information.

The Institute's major goals today are to:

  • Advance understanding of crime-related problems
  • Foster just and efficient criminal justice systems
  • Support respect for international instruments and other standards
  • Facilitate international law enforcement cooperation and judicial assistance.

UNICRI was established as the UN Social Defense Research Institute (UNSDRI) in 1967 following ECOSOC res. 1086 B (XXXIX) (1965), which requested the Secretary-General to strengthen UN action in the prevention and control of both juvenile delinquency and adult criminality.

On 24 May 1989, through its resolution 1989/56, ECOSOC renamed the Institute the UN Interregional Crime and Justice Research Institute and adopted its present Statute, which reconfirms and enlarges the previous mandate.

The Institute has an Applied Research Programme that is organised in the following work areas: security governance and counter-terrorism; emerging crimes; and post-graduate and specialised training within crime prevention and criminal justice.  The UNICRI Documentation Centre supports the Institute's research, training and field activities, and enables it to serve the needs of international organisations, national institutions, non-governmental organisations, experts and professionals.

UNICRI is governed by a Board of Trustees with 11 members.  Seven are selected by the Commission on Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice on the principle of equitable geographical distribution.  They are nominated by the Secretary-General and endorsed by ECOSOC.  Members retire by rotation-when the members are first appointed, three serve for five years, two for four years and two for three years.  The four ex officio members include a representative of the UN Secretary-General, Administrator of the UN Development Programme, host country (Italy) and the Director of UNICRI.

Board members (other than ex officio members):

Pedro David,

Eduardo Fungairinio,

Iskandar Ghattas,

Zeljko Horvatic,

Stuart Page,

Elizabeth Verville,

Alexander Vladimirovic
Russian Federation 

Viale Maestri del Lavoro 10
10127 Turin
Telephone: (+39 011) 653 7111
Fax: (+39 011) 631 3368